ST. CLAIR FISHING & SHOOTING CLUB
It all began just seven years after the end of the American Civil War when four Detroit sportsmen met in E. B. Smith’s bookstore in downtown Detroit in 1872, forming a hunting and fishing club. The club was available only by water with a regular ferry service which departed from the foot of Woodward. By 1890 the Great Lakes Steamer, Tashmoo (capable of carrying up to 4,000 passengers), began its service from Detroit to Port Huron, and the Club was one of its regular stops. In 1940, it finally became possible to reach The Old Club by car when the bridge connecting Harsen’s Island to The Old Club property was completed.
Generations of fortunate families have swapped stories, fishing tales and certainly enjoyed their share of beverages in our iconic River Bar. As we approach our 150th anniversary next year, we are excited to offer a sneak peek of the future of The Old Club – and a completely reimagined River Bar for the next generation.
Events and Milestones